Skip to content

You’ve Got To Be Kidding Me…

July 1, 2012

WARNING: RANT UP AHEAD
I’m around college students all day and I hear this question a few times a day, “I made $200+ last week.  Where did all my money go??”  Those last 5 words piss me off more than anything else.  How do you not know where your money went?! You worked for it, you earned it and what, did it just disappear?!  NO!  How can you be so stupid as to not know when and where you spent it??!  It’s not like it just up and walked away.  Your purse or wallet didn’t eat it.  It didn’t fall out of your pocket…you WASTED it if you don’t remember where it went.  Way to go, idiot.
RANT OVER

Sorry about that.  I realize that growing up, our parents and teachers teach us how to make money, but what I don’t get is why they never taught us what to do with it, besides get in debt and act like brand name items and credit are the greatest things since Jimi Hendrix picked up an electric guitar.
High school students should be pushed by their parents into taking personal finance classes as electives during their junior and senior years.  If more people had common financial sense, our economy wouldn’t be as horrible as it is today.  The small short term things are what will make the difference in the long run.  Things such as this: I’ve personally been offered by my bank to raise my credit limit on my credit card multiple times, and what have I told the bank? No.  Because I have some semblance of common sense and financial sense.  Am I perfect? Hell no.  But I’ll be damned if I put myself into an even worse position that I am now.
If you don’t have the money to buy it, then you SHOULDN’T be buying it!  I understand that sometimes your car craps out on you but that doesn’t mean you should go buy a new car or last years model, and take a $300 monthly note on it.  If you’re in my boat, that $300 a month isn’t just sitting around somewhere and can’t be made up any other way.  And for all the smart asses out there, I know $300 may seem excessive, but if that’s what your getting from this, then your completely missing the point and please leave this blog before you spill stupid all over it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

