Skip to content

Selling Myself…

June 6, 2012

Literally.  Yesterday I sold myself and received cash money for it.  You read it all the time on passive income blogs and tip sites but it never really occurs to people to take time out of their day and go sell bodily fluids.  Now don’t get grossed out just yet.  I’m not going to have children running around that I don’t know about or anything, I sold blood plasma.

Being a first time donor, I wasn’t sure what to think or what I would feel doing this  and in all honesty, it was a big unnerving.  I walked in, signed the list, filled out the paperwork and passed the screening process no problem (I might be a college kid but that doesn’t mean I get trashed every night and my body is in horrible shape, stop stereotyping.)  I’m not going to lie, it hurt a little at first when it started taking my blood.  But come to find out, the pain was from the blood pressure wrap being too tight on my arm so once that was adjusted it was fine.  I sat there reading a book for about 2 and a half hours and then it was done.  My vein is a little bruised but I don’t remember the last time I got $20 to get a bruise.

You’ll be hungry afterwards and it is advised that you eat immediately since the plasma taken contained proteins and other nutrients.  You will also be dehydrated, although you won’t feel like it at first.  Many people pass out when it’s all said and done or have to stop half way through from not being hydrated enough before the process begins.  I drank 2 liters of water the night before and the day of, so I was fine and able to drive home immediately, but it’s because I took those precautions.

$20 may not seem like a whole lot and you’re right, it’s not.  But it was my day off from the restaurant, and I wasn’t making money any other way.  After the first 2 trips, they speed up the process to right under an hour (the first two trips they go nice and slow to make sure your body can handle it) and with each trip the payout goes up to a maximum of $40 I believe.  I’m allowed to go twice a week which generally means 8 times per month which means I’m getting an extra $250+ a month.  Now I probably won’t be going twice a week every single week, but even so, that’s one hell of an income supplement in my book.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

